4 Spoons?!

Slice of Life: Day 6

Today I sat down to lunch tired and looking forward to sitting and just spacing out.  I ate my lunch, the same thing everyday, from my lunch bag, the same one everyday.  However, when I got to the bottom something was different.  It was heavier than usual, seeing as though I just ate everything, and there was a continuous clinking.  I looked into my lunch bag, as if it were a never ending black hole, to find not just the 1 spoon I had used to dish out my yogurt, but 2, 3, 4 spoons!!  4 spoons?!  1 dirty having just used it and 3 others sparkling clean.  What state of mind was I in this morning that I couldn’t remember putting a spoon in my lunch bag not once or twice or three times?!  I seriously went in to the silverware drawer four times this morning?!  What is wrong with me?!  I’m an adult responsible for two tiny human beings and I can’t even remember putting a spoon in my bag 4 different times!  It’s clearly a miracle I made it to work this morning.

As I drive home tonight, I think, “I hope I remembered to start the dishwasher, so we have spoons for dinner tonight.  It’s pretty hard to eat chili with a fork.”

Then Flo Rida’s, Low… “apple bottom jeans boots with the fur….” comes on the radio and I can sing every word from a song that came out 10 years ago, but I can’t remember if I already got a spoon!

8 thoughts on “4 Spoons?!

  1. Hilarious! Do not worry, though. Things like this happen to me all the time so you are in good company. You picked a great experience to slice about today. Hope you started that dishwasher!

    Like

  2. I can empathize! Great little story about the busyness of life and how we sometimes realize that our thoughts are as think as fireflies inside our head – fluttering this way and that – making it hard to keep up with the simple, mundane things such as putting only one spoon in our lunchbag! Loved reading this!

    Like

  3. So funny! I wonder what other little surprises you might find stashed away around your house. If you happened to make 4 batches of chili, send some my way 🙂

    Like

  4. This is so great! Such a fun Slice to read, and I can just feel your bewilderment at the whole thing! Your ending, though, was perfect! Ha ha ha ha ha.

    Great Slice – super fun!

    Like

Leave a comment