Play Room

Slice of Life: Day 28

     Olivia was propped up on the beanbag taking it all in.  She loves to watch her big brother.  Today was no exception.  We were up in the play room.  We turned on Disney sing alongs, which I think I more enjoy than him, but he thinks they sound pretty and are goofy.  I suggested playing with blocks, so on command the mega blocks bag got dumped.  The clinking and crashing of colorful pieces were now strewn in a heap on the floor.  I could tell he had a plan and he got straight to building.  My help was not wanted.  I decided to hang his art work on the wall, while he built.  Something I have been meaning to do for awhile.  Olivia watched.  Luke built.  I hung.  Luke was curious about what I was doing and stopped every so often to offer his advice and ask questions.
     “What are you doing?”
     “Why?”
     “Can I have that?”
     “Where did you get that?”
     “Hang this one.”
     “Use this clip.”
     As I created, so did he adding twine and clothespins to his building, which was actually a carwash!  We both stood and admired each other’s work.  I love the creativity his play room inspires!

7 thoughts on “Play Room

  1. What a sweet memory. I could just picture all of you being creative in different ways. Won’t Olivia have fun when she is old enough to join in after watching and soaking it all in?

    Like

  2. Isn’t it nice to have time to do the little things, like hanging Luke’s artwork, that make such a big difference? There’s nothing more fun to look at than kid’s artwork and it certainly brightens up a room. Love this post!

    Like

  3. “We both stood and admired each other’s work.” — I love that line. 🙂

    Sounds like a peaceful and productive few hours for everyone. Even Olivia, watching, always watching.

    Like

  4. This is a great way to be with your kids-letting them take the lead, hanging together. And it makes me wonder- how often do we see a “carwash” and not recognize it or appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a comment