Mystery Reader

Slice of Life: Day 26

Today was the day.  My son has been waiting for me to come to his class to be the Mystery Reader.  His dad had read.  Now when was it going to be my turn!

“Carrie’s mom and dad have both come to read, so that means you can come too!”

Everyday when I pick him up from class we have to walk by the wall of Mystery Readers, “Mommy, the wall is getting covered up fast when are you going to come in to read?”

Today is my day.  Finally on Spring Break.  No day to take off.  No sub plans to make.  I can just enjoy reading to my son’s class!

I get an email on the way there telling me the class is out at recess and I can go “hide out” in the office and wait until the teacher comes to get me.

I see the kids out on the playground.  I avoid eye contact.  I park farther away from the playground and building so as to not draw attention to myself.  I quickly get out.  Sunglasses on.  Books to the side.  Head down and away from the playground.  Move swift.  Don’t let them see.  I open the door and quickly veer to the right catching my son’s class filing in to their classroom out of the corner of my eye.  I wait in hiding.  Waiting to be summoned.  I am giddy with excitement and a twinge of nervous butterflies.  It’s that first day of school feeling.  I have been teaching for years and have read many stories aloud, but this is different this is to surprise my son and read to his class.

Here comes his teacher.  Calm.  Warm and welcoming.  Always smiling.  Hehe.  I can’t wait to see my son’s face!

“Boys and girls, I have our Mystery Reader.  Who do you think it is going to be?  Let’s welcome… Luke’s mom!”

“MOM!”

“It’s Luke’s mom!”

“Luke, it’s your mom!”

“You’re not a grandpa!”

“No, Henry.  I am not a grandpa.”

“Mrs. W said it was a grandpa.”

“I was trying to trick you all,” replied Mrs. W.

All the boys and girls were sitting criss cross applesauce on the carpet.  Hands in their lap.  So quiet.  All smiles.  Eagerly waiting to be read to.

Two chairs were placed side by side at the front of the room.  Luke climbs up next to me as I sit.  He quickly pulls the books from my grasp and says, “This one first.”

I read and the kids comment and Luke sits close so happy to have me there to finally be the Mystery Reader.  I couldn’t have asked for a better day!  If only I could do this more often!

 

3 thoughts on “Mystery Reader

  1. What a great story! Moments like yours are the very best! Glad it was so wonderful for both you and Luke. Hope your whole spring break week is filled with these kind of moments 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh, I love this! Matthew often asks me to be room mom, and other things like that. It is more difficult when you have to plan for a sub, but I know how much he appreciates it, as obviously, Luke did, too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment