I Just Want To Know

Slice of Life Day 12

These past two weeks have felt eternally long! Like I am on repeat and everyday is slightly the same and I am not getting any closer to the end.  The last two weeks have been especially stressful waiting for a final count on students returning to school 5 days a week.  This is the parents last selection choice for the year.  We thought we knew what the numbers would be.  That the remote students wouldn’t come back.  These parents were set on taking the extra precautions and intent on keeping their kids remote.  But then they changed their mind… 1, 2, 3, 4, maybe 5! They keep coming! Now, don’t get me wrong, I want kids back.  It is where they learn best, but where do I put them all?!!  How do I keep them safe and distanced? Especially the ones who have been home since last March! These kids and families I worry about the most.  Do they know what my class will look like?  I am constantly checking for the updated numbers.  Constantly thinking about what furniture can go and where all the desks should be placed.  What if I have to change rooms? What if I have to split up my kids? How do I choose?  How will the parents feel?  So many things are out of my control.  So many decisions that will not be up to me.  So many changes.  So many unknowns.  I just want to know!

5 thoughts on “I Just Want To Know

  1. The uncertainty is draining. And, I’m with you on the geography of the classroom: Where am I supposed to put them? How can I space them out?

    I hope you get the answers soon.

    Like

  2. Agreed, it is all so hard! Also, what a great point that you’re most concerned about those who have been home for a year. Our remote section currently has 28 students and is going down slowly, but that means the other sections will absorb those students. Like you said, we all want the kids back but how do we keep them safe? How do we decide who to “trade” like they are baseball players switching teams late in the season?! Ugh… looking forward to a fresh start in August, that’s for sure!

    Like

  3. So much uncertainty this year and I can only imagine how hard it is for you to plan! Hopefully you will know everything next week and can start to know what things will look like,

    Like

  4. I am switching rooms next week and I’ve pretty much decided we just have to be open to doing anything. You want me to tap dance for 25 mins a day? I’m on it. You want me to make the food they eat each day? No problem. We can do anything! We are superheroes!

    Like

Leave a comment